Well, That Was Certainly Unexpected

prairie_wisdom_says 2

My job involves traveling to homes to visit with families. I am privileged to be invited into these houses. I love working with children and families.

The other day, a coworker and I were meeting with a family. Usually, I perch on the edge of the couch as I talk and take notes. This day, I decided to get comfortable and leaned back to enjoy the flow of conversation.

When the meeting concluded, I started to rise when I noticed something was not right. So, I sat down again. I looked around. Everything seemed normal. I stood again and realized I was dragging a large couch pillow with me. The pillow was attached to my rear end. Not a small pillow, mind you. This was a huge pillow with fringe.

Awkward.

Somehow, while leaning back against the sofa, I had wrapped the fringe around my back pocket button. Multiple times.

As I stood there, everyone began to notice that I had a pillow hanging from my rear.  The family moved forward to help me. I raised my hand to stop their progress while shoving my back towards my coworker. She began fumbling and muttering behind me.  I thought I would need to request a scissors when I was finally, gloriously released from the weight of the pillow.

And that, was that.

I shook everyone’s hands and made it to the foyer before I collapsed in giggles. My coworker said all things professional and nice as I let myself out the front door and raced to the car. Now, the joy knew no bounds.

I have an overactive sense of humor during the mundane. But add any excitement and I am transported for days.

pw_signature

8 thoughts on “Well, That Was Certainly Unexpected”

Thoughts??

