If I Hadn’t Been So Tired

We just completed a wonderful trip to the Colorado Rockies. As we drove home, our 24 year old son smiled and said, “Remember mom, we cannot stop in Ogallala.” And I said, “Huh?” He continued, “Ogallala, where you made a public spectacle of yourself a week ago.” And then I remembered.

It had been the first day of our trip west. We had driven 11 hours when we decided to stop, get out of the car and sit down for dinner at a restaurant. The lucky town to receive our business was Ogallala, Nebraska.

We were seated at a table by the waitress/receptionist. We ordered, then I went to the bathroom. Being tired from all those hours of sitting, I didn’t return to my seat but walked around the restaurant looking at every picture in the dining area. I noticed people staring but thought nothing of it because not many people wander around a restaurant. But when the kitchen staff, one by one, came out of the kitchen to lean against the wall and watch I thought, “Must be a slow day in Ogallala.”

We had a wonderful meal, returned to the car and continued down the highway. About 10 miles down the road I understood why everyone had been staring. As I shifted positions in my seat, I saw something white. What is this? Pulling on it, I uncovered a long trail of toilet paper hanging from the back of my capris. I was speechless for a moment, then did what I do best, laughed until tears streamed down my face. My family was greatly amused.

13 thoughts on “If I Hadn’t Been So Tired”

  1. At least you didn’t have a 6’2” man following you around stomping as he tried to step on the toilet paper so it would fall off, because he was too embarrassed to just tell you. Of course Mr. 6’2” (your husband) also scared the 80+ year-old out of her wits…

  2. How does that happen? The last time toilet paper stuck to my shoe I wondered how it got there and why it hadn’t torn away as I walked. It’s a classic! Looking forward to the details of your trip. Sounds like you had fun.

Thoughts??

