Tis the Season for Checking Your List…Twice

Santa isn’t the only one who is making a list and checking it twice. Tis the Season of Lists. We have gift lists, to do lists, packing lists, food lists. Lists, lists, lists. For someone who loves a good list, this is a great time of year.

Yesterday, my sister and I not only worked off our own lists, we phoned each other multiple times to compare lists. Late in the afternoon, she called me for the fourth time.

My sister: “I finally finished my shopping and unloaded all the bags from my car when I had a nagging sense that I had forgotten something. I thought about the food and was sure I had everything from my list. I thought about the gifts and couldn’t think of any I hadn’t purchased. I puzzled about it for a moment and then gave up because I couldn’t think of anything I was missing. I started calling Bella (their dog) to let her outside. I called and called and called but she didn’t come. Finally, our daughter came out of her room and said “Mom, Bella isn’t here. You took her to the groomer.” And just like that I remembered what I had forgotten. My dog!”

8 thoughts on “Tis the Season for Checking Your List…Twice”

  1. She needed to add that task to her list. The reason I make lists, is not to feel accomplishment as I cross things off that I complete…no,no,no, it is so I don’t forget to do the simple things, like pick my daughter up from play practice. “Aliesha, Aliesha, time for dinner. Aliesha where are you?”

  2. Ha, ha…this is so true. I’m a list person but had never thought of this as a list season. Unfortunately, I started this season’s lists on various writing pads or tablets with various versions of the same lists…duh! It’s down to the wire, and I finally have it all worked out.
    Merry Christmas!

    1. A very, merry Christmas to you too! And my sister has, unfortunately, forgotten the dog before at our house. Luckily we were able to call them on their cell phone and tell them to come back and get her.

Thoughts??

