All I Want for Christmas is Some Sleep

I am beginning to think that making the majority of my Christmas gifts was not such a brilliant idea after all. But, as I near the end of my gift giving list I can see the light at the end of my crafting tunnel. For a while there it seemed as if it had burned out. Then I realized it wasn’t the tunnel lamp that was burned out but me. To re-light it I have been taking naps. Naps are something I usually cannot do because I lie in bed thinking too much and then get up and just do it. This past week, though, I could get an Olympic medal for napping.

On Tuesday, I came home from work, straightened the house, made dinner and then around 6 at night decided I needed a nap. I woke up when the alarm beeped at 5:30 a.m. the next morning. Technically that was probably not a nap but it sure felt good. The next night I worked on some of my crafting projects and then sat in my easy chair and ‘dipped under’ for about an hour. Wow, two naps in two days. Who is this woman? Thursday, while sitting on the couch I rested my eyes. Since I didn’t look at the clock before I rested them, I am not sure how long they rested that night. Saturday, I decided to lie down for a while in the afternoon, 3 hours later I wondered what had happened.

Napping during the day is different from sleeping at night. During the day when you sleep you actually miss something. While napping, people have called and I missed talking with them. People posted on their blogs but I wasn’t on my computer to read them. Christmas decorating and baking did not get done but I must admit I am not too upset about that.

I am currently obsessing on finishing my last few Christmas gifts which I plan to do…right after I take a nap.

16 thoughts on “All I Want for Christmas is Some Sleep”

  1. Oooh, naps are wonderful. Power naps, though. Not the long ones. After 15 minutes I can do anything. After a couple of hours I feel like I have been hit by a truck.

    Congrats on being almost done~and I hope that on Christmas eve, visions of sugar plums will dance in your head!

  2. I’m sorry, but I love an afternoon nap when I can steal one. Cats have it right. A tiny snooze recharges me for more gift making. You go, girl. Hand crafted gifts are the best. Another nap or two and you’ll be done.

  3. Your trouble is that you are apparently at work during the best nap time… somewhere between 1:00 and 3:00 p.m. I agree that 15-minute power naps are the best.
    I justify naps by thinking of my Grandma who took a short one every single day and lived to bo 100 years old. It’s like she was recharging her batteries.

  4. I can’t nap; I’m so sleep deprived at times that a nap would end up as you say – lasting til the next morning. Sounds like you’re burning the candle at both ends and needed the rest. Enjoy it.

    1. I have not been able to nap until the last week. Now that is all I want to do. I have got to stop generating new ideas and additional work for this holiday season and make it through Christmas. Slowing down is on the schedule for next week.

  5. I often nap for 15 minutes or so in the afternoon. It sure recharges my batteries! Naps in the summer are the best – rocking in the hammock in the sunshine puts me out right away!

Thoughts??

