I’m Being Followed by a Moonshadow

The sun is rising later each day so our morning walk is now conducted in the dark.  We bring a flashlight with us, but only turn it on when cars approach to alert them of our presence.

I like to walk in the dark. It forces me to rely on my other senses. As our eyes adjust, we step a little more carefully and listen a little harder. Yesterday we heard rustling in the field then the sounds headed our way. Two deer crossed the street in front of us. I did not see them until my husband turned on our light as we watched them bound into the woods on the other side of the road.

Each morning seems to bring a new surprise. This morning a full moon was low in the sky and illuminated our way. It was so bright that it cast our shadows behind us as we walked. Normally, we are quiet as we walk since we have just woken up but today I could not help but sing. Our moonshadows reminded me of a Cat Stevens song and I belted out the chorus for my husband.

I’m bein’ followed by a moonshadow, moonshadow, moonshadow
Leapin and hoppin’ on a moonshadow, moonshadow, moonshadow

He looked at me, laughed and said “What’s gotten into you?” My answer was a smile he could see on this moon bright morning. I don’t remember the last time I saw my moonshadow. As we continued to walk I hummed the tune a while longer and then quieted as I let the dark surround and refresh me for another day.

4 thoughts on “I’m Being Followed by a Moonshadow”

  1. I love love love your post. The image it conjured up was delightful. Last night my husband and I went for a moonlight walk. It was a beautiful evening and we could see the stars twinkling. Lovely.

Thoughts??

