Memory and Social Ease, I am Told, Go Together

I have a very poor memory. I don’t remember important and harmless information about people. When I see people I’ve met before, I am unable to ask about their family because I can’t remember who is in their family. And names? How can anyone remember names? It is baffling. I don’t ask people about their job because I have no clue what they do. I can’t ask about their interests or hobbies because these details also elude me. What I seem to remember are the funny and embarrassing stories I’ve seen or heard about people. This is not helpful nor does it put people at ease. I have to clamp my mouth shut before this information escapes me and sometimes I am not successful to the horror of all.

I know my memory is poor and I thought I should work on improving it. If I developed some memory strategies I figured I would be able to remember the small harmless details that make you popular at parties.

I registered for a memory workshop. On the night of the workshop I signed in at the registration table. I was handed my meal ticket and my packet of handouts and then I made my way into the auditorium. I got there just as the speaker was starting the workshop. The speaker was saying, “Are you one of those people who gets home from work, puts down your keys and then can’t remember where you put them?”

I’m not sure what she said after that because I missed the next fifteen minutes of the lecture. Between the registration table and taking my seat I had misplaced my meal ticket. I looked in my folder, my purse, my coat pocket, my pants pocket and finally gave up. I got out of my chair and went back to the registration table to request another meal ticket. This took some explaining because the attendant indicated that I had already picked up my meal ticket. I informed him that while this was true I had somehow lost it. After he grudgingly gave me another meal ticket, I returned to the auditorium and took my seat. I have no clue what happened after that but I do remember the dinner was not memorable. Another serving of rubber chicken.

Two days later I found the meal ticket. It was jammed between pages 4 and 5 of my yellow legal pad.

Thoughts??

