Just Another Mandatory Nap Day

naps

When our kids were young, we traveled long distances to visit relatives. We quickly learned that if one of us had to stop to go to the bathroom, we better make sure everyone else took a turn. Otherwise, five miles down the road we’d hear another little voice wailing, “I have to go to the bathroom!” So began our mandatory bathroom stops. One for all and all for the bathroom.

This past weekend, our grandchildren came to visit. On Saturday, after spending a night getting up to tend sleepless children, I was bleary-eyed. After lunch I said, “Time for naps.” Our three-year old granddaughter looked at me and asked, “Is it mandatory nap day?” Mandatory nap day? What a great idea. I crouched down to look her in the eye and said, “It most definitely is mandatory nap day. Today, everyone gets to nap.”

Our daughter and son-in-law have a mandatory nap day each weekend. It has become a family tradition and now I was going to reap the benefits of this practice with a nice long nap.

But, before we settled under the covers, we had one important stop. The mandatory bathroom stop.

pw_signature

10 thoughts on “Just Another Mandatory Nap Day”

  1. Perfect. Although for me every day should be mandatory nap day! Perhaps I am really a Spaniard (although nobody would think that I am even “black Irish!”

  2. Ah, love afternoon naps on the weekend! I know what you mean about sleepless children. Our three year old granddaughter seems to have a middle-of-the-night wander on a regular basis! ~ Sheila

      1. How cute! Our little Riley loves pink and purple too. Must be an inborn choice for little girls! This year she is a ballerina pirate for Halloween…not sure where that concept came from. But she’s got a pirate hat and a tutu with the required pink! ~ Sheila

  3. I love it! We almost always have a Sunday afternoon nap – and today, having wakened up at 4:00 and not getting back to sleep, I took a nap…for almost 2 hours. I woke up with a raging headache – the bane of long naps!

Thoughts??

